Left handed Orthodox.... normal?

OscarTheMonster**

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
What's up fellas, was just wondering about this while waiting for the UFC Countdown show to air.

I'm left handed and i feel more comfortable jabbing with my left hand, is this normal?

Longtime wrestler here. I signed up at a local boxing gym yesterday, so i'm pretty new to the striking game. I know my left is my stronger/power hand, so technically i should be jabbing with my right. But man, i feel like my jabs with the right hand are so weak. When i switched back to orthodox, I could tell the guy i sparred with was feeling those left hand jabs for sure. Should i focus on being a southpaw and just work on my right hand jab? Or are left handed orthodox boxers pretty common?

I know I'm going to ask my coach this tomorrow, but I'm just wondering about this.

Thanks.

I'm also left handed orthodox.
Standing south paw feels crap, so I've stuck with what works best for me.
If it's working for you stick with it imo.

You see some pro boxers who have there power hand forward and the reason why is that you probably throw your jab 5x more than any other punch so why not make it your good hand. That being said your giving up your power shots to from your rear hand. I guess it depends what kind of style you have.

In boxing u must perfect your footwork and balance to throw a correct punch. If u use ur power hand as your jab. Then ur power punches will come from ur weak hand, making them not that powerful.ASK YOU COACH!

That's plenty normal. Lots of guys do that. My buddy is a boxer and basically called me an idiot for not doing it. Why not use your better hand 5x more often?

In boxing u must perfect your footwork and balance to throw a correct punch. If u use ur power hand as your jab. Then ur power punches will come from ur weak hand, making them not that powerful.
Although I'm left handed I do some things right handed, such as play guitar.