learning grappling during injury

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by IFight4Love, May 19, 2008.

1. IFight4Love

IFight4Love White Belt

I'm a beginner with brazilian jiu jitsu ... i took 5 classes total at good school but then broke my finger horrendously (multiple fractures/tendon damage/etc.) in a car accident so I am currently on a break. I obviously can't go to class/roll to improve, what would you guys recommend I do to enhance my bjj knowledge? Would reading books/watching instructional videos be helpful, or is there really nothing I can do?? I am trying to stay optimistic after walking away from horrible accident with little damage besides one finger but the fact I can't really do shit to get better with BJJ is really depressing me (was really getting addicted - changing my schedule to get in class 3-4x/week etc.) What can I do??

Sorry for long post sherdoggers :icon_cry2

2. SMillard

SMillard Red Belt

practice the solo drills like shrimping, if you have a duffel bag you can practice positions like side control, mount and knee on belly. Tie a belt on the bag and practice transition from the the different positions. Hell you can even practice some sweeps from the guard with the bag.

I had a neck injury that sidelined me for about a month and that is what I did and when I went back I actually felt better in my movement and people in class noticed as well. Good luck with your finger.

Books and videos are great, so are video on youtube, lockflow.com and any other websites but there is a limit to their value if you can't practice the moves.

3. wOg

wOg Burien Top Team

Create a project. I've been on the shelf for about a month with a bad shoulder (labrium). I've used the time to diet (less training means fewer caloriers needed) and improve my hip flexibility.

My goal is to return to the mat in about three or four weeks lighter and more flexible.

It's also a good time to watch competition videos (ADCC or GQ if no gi, Mundial or Pan Ams if gi).