Killer instinct during a brawl

Thunderstruck91

White Belt
Reaction score
I've been in a brawl with other unknown guy for personal reasons that I'm not going to tell them, and I've noticed that I don't have that killer instinct needed to "rush" and kick off the guy's ass. And I've even cant use my fighting skills.

In tournaments it's ok, but in situations like this, it's like a turn off.

I've been practicing Karate Shotokan for 8 years (brown belt) and actually I'm orange belt in Kosho-Ryu Kenpo.

Sorry if I posted in a wrong section.

Thank you

What exactly do you want people here to tell you? "Get more killer instinct"?

I presume that your Shotokan competitions aren't full contact. Try doing some hard continuous sparring, like you are preparing for a full contact competition.

The adrenaline dump you are going to experience in tippy tappy karate comps is no where near the adrenaline dump when somebody wants to take your head off.

First of all, you shouldnt be fighting. It's stupid and immature. I almost got into a fight at a Forever 21 (yes, they have a men's section, suprisingly. I was visiting a friend who works there, dont judge me) the other day, and i looked like an asshole.

Secondly, it's just nerves, that's just how your body reacts, It's raw, invested emotion.

I presume that your Shotokan competitions aren't full contact. Try doing some hard continuous sparring, like you are preparing for a full contact competition.

The adrenaline dump you are going to experience in tippy tappy karate comps is no where near the adrenaline dump when somebody wants to take your head off.

couldn't have said it better.. you can also spar full contact on the street more often with almost no rules.. the more you fight, the more comfortable you get.