Ketogenics and Artificial Sweetners (SugarFree Products)

unregisturd

The human grappling dummy
@Green
Reaction score
I've done some research and the best evidence I could find on either side of the arguement was anecdotal at best.

Do artificial sweetners have an impact on Ketosis?

I mean things like Splenda, Equal and phenylanaline etc.

Basically can I drink Pepsi Max, SugarFree Red Bull or chew sugar free gum once in a while?

Thanks

Interesting question, because some low-carb diets say yes, some say no

I think Sinister should be able to answer this one more definitively

Drink water, sweeetners are for girls

joking :icon_chee

I don't think eating or drinking anything "once in a while" would create a problem. If by "once in a while" you mean once a day, then idk. I'm not a nutrition expert so I'm not going to give you any wrong advice.

I use nothing but artificial sweentener and go through a pack of sugarfree gum a day, so im curious.

It depends on what sweetener we're talking about. Splenda, for example, does have some calories (but <5 per serving, so it counts as "zero calorie" for labeling purposes). For example, conceivably, if you were eating a lot of Splenda, there could be a significant number (and with ketosis, it doesn't take many to count as "significant") of extra carbs in your diet you haven't accounted for.

"Sugar free" stuff that is actually made with sugar alcohols will of course be problematic--those are still carbs which can be digested, it just takes your body awhile to do so. Erythitol might be an exception here.

And most artificial sweeteners supposedly have some effect on insulin. However, I have not seen this effect quantified anywhere. In other words, I can't say if it's an effect worth caring about.

Sinister will tell you to get a glucometer, have some splenda or whatever, and then test yourself :)

If you really want to know that is.