Ken Primoa on US wrestling mentality vs Russian Mentailty

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by nefti, Oct 23, 2010.

1. nefti

nefti Red Belt

2. nefti

nefti Red Belt

i actually heard the same thing from an olympic wrestler from korea. That Russian practices are more light hearted (granted not before tournaments) and they experiment and do more of a "jiu jitsu approach" to their sparring there.

3. jkidd89

jkidd89 Orange Belt

I thought the Russians were better due to their extensive focus on Freestyle wrestling. While in the US, we focus more on Folkstyle for high school wrestling and Collegiate wrestling.

I am no expert though, so I'd like people to explain if I've said something wrong.

4. newerest

newerest Purple Belt

I thought this was the reason as well...

5. SuperSuperRambo

SuperSuperRambo Senior Moderator Senior Moderator

The Russians are better due to their more extensive focus on wrestling in general.

6. Sloth

Sloth Brown Belt

I don't know much about wrestling, but I agree with his statements in the context of grappling and most other sports/activities. Hell, I think it's true of life in general.

7. nefti

nefti Red Belt

A korean Olypian who has medaled in international events told me that when he trained in russia what got made an impression on him was how they trained and their approach to training. He used come by and spar with us and he mentioned how jiu jitsu sparring was like how the russians trained wrestling. Not about winning and going 110% all the time but about exploring and perfecting technique. Now i understand the nature of wrestling is going to be naturally more intense than jiu jitsu but it seems that the russians have a different view about practice than americans.

8. outonbail

outonbail Living My Dreams

russian don't train technique. they only spar , going from mid to high lvl intensity.

they learn the technique while sparring

9. norcal313

norcal313 Purple Belt