Just had my first class...

GriffinQ

Orange Belt
Reaction score
a few nights ago. A friend of mine trains at Jeff Gordon's Mixed Martial Arts Academy in Gaithersburg, MD, and he got me a 1 month trial at the place for their BJJ and Judo classes. I've never done either before, but I wrestled for my senior year in high school(Im18, just graduated) and I did TMA's when I was younger. Compared to wrestling practice, which was 3 hours long, versus this hour long BJJ (w/ Gi) class....I dunno, things feel a little rushed. Brief warm up, straight into lessons on techniques, then drilling, and then a little time at the end to roll. I heard that there's usually more than the 10 minutes we got to roll, but even so, does 3 or 4 techniques being taught and then drilled in about a 40 minute span sound like alot? or am I just being a whiny bitch, who has to adjust to a new training style? Any advice is appreciated haha, I'd like to hear some opinions before I become a paying member.

IMHO, it sounds like a pretty balanced class. Three or four techniques is probably a good number -- just enough to be challenging/keep everyone's interest, but not enough to melt your brain. If you are drilling them after the instruction, even better. It seems to me that the rolling time could be a little longer (at least, I prefer to go longer). You might ask around to see if every class is like that or if there is an open mat day you can come in and just roll. Are there other schools in your area you could try out to compare? Regardless, I think you should stick with it.

it = jiu-jitsu in general; not necessarily that school.

Last edited:
Your rolling time could be longer. My gym usually does about 3 techniques and 20-25 minutes of rolling.

I don't think 10 minutes is enough to get decent practice in.