Jogging fat loss - HR zone question

Discussion in 'Strength & Conditioning Discussion' started by NLBJJ, Oct 2, 2010.

1. NLBJJ

NLBJJ Orange Belt

I'm a noob just starting out to jogging, I've just been doing bjj for awhile.

I've read that 60%-70% HR zone was great for fat loss, I'm in my 20's and that turns out to be 120-140bpm. My concern was that after a 45min jog I've done 3mi and I love that fact that I'm not trying to push myself but it just seems too good to be true.

It seems too easy. The next level is 70%-80% 140-160bpm and wouldn't this rate allow me to lose fat faster? I'd obviously be losing more calories in a 45min jog than at 60-70 but just wanted some confirmation that the calories won't be at the cost of muscle mass.

Should I up the HR or up the durations of the lower HR zone?

Thanks!

2. ozbrawler

ozbrawler Orange Belt

pure fat loss is best below 150bpm because of how hard it is to uncouple fat acids above that. above that point your body finds it easier to use glycogen (carbs or your muscle waste) as its primary fuel source. one problem with that is would you prefer to burn 500 calouries with 30% being fat or burn 900 calouries with 22% being fat? cause thats basically the way it is the harder your heart goes the more calories you burn but slightly less of that being purely fat.

not telling you how to train but i would run at a pace that your comfy with for the aloted time or do your intervals to raise and lower your heart rate.

also training at 130bpm-150bpm increases your anearobic recovery if your body is in need of that.

3. Tosa

Tosa Red Belt

Losing fat is more about diet than anything else. This is because gaining or losing weight/muscle/fat is dependant upon wether or are taking in more or less calories than you are burning, and it's far easier to eat X calories less, than burn X calories more.