Jiu Jitsu and fitness.

IamnotJonFitch

Green Belt
@Green
Reaction score
Hey guys, how are you doing?

I've been training on and off for a few years, mostly off honestly, and I've always been a little pudgy. Basically, Fedor pudgy, maybe a little less pudge. Anyways, I've finally found the time to dedicate myself to Jiu Jitsu and some boxing more frequently, two or three times a week. Still, I've never been able to cut that fat off that I've had since I was a kid.

Besides diet, which if you have any not obvious advice on I'm totally open to it, any general advice on cutting some fat while using grappling as my main workout?

cut out sugar or flour. doing calisthenics every day helps too. once you're in decent shape, start doing sprints.

Besides diet? What a stupid thing to say. Sorry, but it is all about diet. Unless you are Gary Tonon, you can't go around eating shit all day and then expect that a couple jiu jitsu workout a week are going to get you cut.

If your diet is right then you can lose weight without any workouts. Having the workouts in there with the correct diet will only accelerate the weight loss.

Besides diet? What a stupid thing to say. Sorry, but it is all about diet. Unless you are Gary Tonon, you can't go around eating shit all day and then expect that a couple jiu jitsu workout a week are going to get you cut.

If your diet is right then you can lose weight without any workouts. Having the workouts in there with the correct diet will only accelerate the weight loss.

Oh sure, just...my diet is pretty decent. I watch my calories, sugar and sodium intakes and try to get good amounts of good fats and protien in my day.

It's not always great (the holidays were particularly decadent this year ) but I'm aware of basic nutrition. However, any particularly effective tips that not everyone is aware of would of course be great.