Jay's BJJ Training Log

jlane

White Belt
Reaction score
I have such a fancy way of naming threads.

Firstly, some details:

Height: 5'11
Weight (morning): 182 lbs as of 29/10/10

I've been training BJJ for a few months now, once or twice a week. I'm currently a no stripe white belt, being at the bottom of the pecking order. However I can say with some confidence doing BJJ is slowly becoming a love, and I hopefully should be competing in a competition or two next year for the experience. I wouldn't take them too seriously though, not this time round anyway.

The good thing is I'm not getting completely smashed in training anymore, but I still haven't had a submission since I started (the only plus being I've gone from tapping out over 10 times a night to around 2/3). As long as theres evidence that I'm improving then I'm happy.

I want to lose around 10lbs and then make my way up slowly till I hover around 200 sometime next year. At present I have time for 2 BJJ sessions on a monday and a thursday, and 2 weights sessions on a tuesday and friday. I was thinking of just doing the same lifts on tuesday and friday, but if theres anything I'm missing out then please let me know.

I'm going to keep strength training whilst I lose the weight and then yank it up a notch once I start gaining weight again. Any advice or comments are appreciated.

Apologies for the lengthy post.

-----

Tuesday 2nd November - [Not including warm ups, Smith is the best i can get for Bench and Squat] --- Scratch the converting to lbs, keeping it in KGs for limey ease.

Gym:

Smith Squat:

5 x 60
5 x 60
5 x 60

Bench Press:

5 x 32.5
5 x 32.5
5 x 32.5

Military Press:

5 x 20
5 x 20
5 x 20

Deadlift:

5 x 75
5 x 75
5 x 75

Last edited:
Thursday 4th November

BJJ.

Stretching
Drilling
Rolling

We drilled a couple of things tonight, firstly a kimura from guard, which I'm still having problem with. Guess I have short arms. Moving on to a sweep incase someone tries to block the kimura.