IT Professionals GTFIH

Wreckless

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
I was thinking about developing new skills in my free time in order to be able to find higher paying jobs some time in the future.

I've been working as an IT technician for roughly 6 years.

My current job is level 2 tech support at an insurance company. Basically, if an employee has a problem with their computer a peripheral or is having a software issue, they call the support center and if the support center can't fix the issue they send it to us.

The salary is pretty good for what I do. Nothing to complain. But in IT, fixing computer issues isn't really where the money is at. Specializing in a specific field is usually where the big salaries are.

Any suggestions on what I could learn on the side that could be useful? Something that employers are looking for. Especially during covid/post covid. I feel like more and more companies will be implementing work from home in the future which will cause the demand in the IT sector to increase and it has already.

I'm not looking to go back to school. Just something that I could do after work or in my free time at home. A certification maybe?

I considered learning programming. Developpers usually make a good salary but I never really liked coding.

Feel free to share your ideas.

Security. Lots of IT jobs are being outsourced to Indian companies, they're a little more hesitant to outsource their security.
Networking. Even if everything's in the cloud, the company will still need to maintain it's own networking infrastructure.

You could also go way out there and focus on OS/390 and Cobol. The old mainframers are retiring, someone will need to pick up the slack.

I recently went through a job search and I'll tell you what a lot of companies were looking for when I was searching.