Israel Adesanya's defense

Qwerty1

Purple Belt
@purple
Reaction score
What would you rate it? Is it considered good?

Im not an expert but he seems to get tagged a decent amount. I think Costa will tag him at least a couple times, hoping his chin holds up.

Im not an expert but he seems to get tagged a decent amount. I think Costa will tag him at least a couple times, hoping his chin holds up.
On the feet? I mean you don’t get much better without sacrificing significant offensive output

Fire AV bruh. No pressure was surprisingly dope. Celebration is a ridiculous track. Back to your question. It's very very good. He rolls with strikes well too. Don't let the theatrics fool you. His defence is good. He does get hit though but his defence is indeed good. Wonder how he'll fare against paulos body shots though. It's not immediately obvious to me how he'll do it.

It’s way above average, but he can be hit. I don’t think he is amazing defensively. I think he might perhaps have issues with southpaws. A good defensive fighter though.

His defense is one of the best at MW, in my opinion. In his fight against Whittaker, he barely got hit.

It's really good till it isn't

<mma3>

It's really good. His upper body movement is sometimes incredible.
But it's also suspect. Like for such a high level kickboxer, the KG fight is an anomaly. Especially when you add in the height and reach advantage, and the fact that KG is not a guy who uses his wrestling a lot so the TD threat wasn't that big of a factor.

That fight is why I'm not totally sold on Adesanya.

Really good Defence, incredibly hard to hit flush thanks to elite footwork and swaying and ducking out the way, his actual head movement doesn't look as flashy as some, but his defensive reaction timing and body movements are as good as i've seen... Costa has less reach than Yoel who really struggled to make that distance except the infamous punch that ruined the fight.. Maybe more output will be the answer, we shall see.