1. The official Sherdog Store is back! Check it out! » Discuss it here! »

Is this a takedown?

Discussion in 'UFC Discussion' started by fortheo, Sep 24, 2013.

  1. youngda9 Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nit picking if the guy actually got taken down a second time. Take a step and see the impressiveness of that and what you're doing.

    ugh
     
  2. egk Gold Belt

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    17,350
    Likes Received:
    1,712
    LOL All these posts disagreeing with you and you're writing whole books about it to argue with me in other threads.

    My original post was to someone else who claimed that meant Gus was never hurt in Rd 4 because he was able to toss Jones down like a child. ROFL

    People embellishing things to try to make their story more credible just end up looking oolish.
     
  3. shunyata Red Belt

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9,984
    Likes Received:
    1,867
    Location:
    The City of Angels
  4. Robespierre Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,434
    Likes Received:
    0
    not a takedown and should not be counted as an succesful offensive attack
     
  5. fortheo Titanium Belt

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    38,699
    Likes Received:
    10,331
    lol dude, did he trip jones or not ? that's what i mainly want to know. I also wanted to know what constitutes a takedown. Once again you've done nothing but attack a poster, instead of refute, or make a counter point.
     
  6. Lavitz It’s Showtime!

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    5,978
    Likes Received:
    1,423
    I don't think the Unified rules have set definition of what takedown in mma is.
     
  7. Author Brown Belt

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,698
    Likes Received:
    57
    I think by definition, Jones was grounded. And yes, be blind if you want, but it was because of something Gus did. I'm kinda thankful TS shared this gif because I've been wanting to see it again. This is akin to a Judo throw to ground your opponent. Just because Gus didn't capitalize and full mount him or anything doesn't necessarily mean it didn't happen.

    It's the equivalent of Jones (or any fighter) securing a takedown, then backing up and letting the opponent immediately get to his feet. The takedown wasn't capitalized on, but does that negate the takedown happening (and the subsequently scored point)? I don't think so. Judges dropped the ball on that round because of an elbow that rocked Gus and got people excited. Sucks!
     
  8. egk Gold Belt

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    17,350
    Likes Received:
    1,712
    I've already commented on it. Someone created a thread just like this yesterday asking what constitutes a takedown. I replied in it. You're getting a lot of exactly the same kind of responses and still you're arguing over it.
     
  9. fortheo Titanium Belt

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    38,699
    Likes Received:
    10,331
    show me a place where I argued with someone in this thread. There is a difference between an argument ( which you love to instigate) and a discussion. Arguments usually involve people like you posting and attacking people instead of posting actual opinions on the topic.
     
  10. Spawned_Fighter nobody but me

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    20,686
    Likes Received:
    5
    exactly the one im thinking of im sure
     
  11. Mikeyz Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    12,005
    Likes Received:
    32


    Nope. watch it again, Jones clearly landed on his knees.

    That was definitely not a trip or a takedown
     
  12. 315MMAFighter MąïȚře Đë Đəğåť§ - Pure Dominican Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    15,797
    Likes Received:
    3,717
    Location:
    Nǝʍ ⅄oɹʞ Ɔᴉʇʎ
    Didnt complete the takedown, thats what makes it count, look at JJ million dollar trunks though, the guy must be worth mils by now lol, gatorade, nike, McDonalds should be next
     
  13. The DanaWhite Pink Belt

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    57
    If you wanna say that being on all fours is a takedown then almost every sprawl is a take down then. You gotta be on your back or butt to count
     
  14. Hallzzz Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,935
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    In wrestling that wouldn't count as a takedown
     
  15. kflo Titanium Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    43,765
    Likes Received:
    5,892
    gus ended up grounded therefore it is a td for jones.

    double takedown. double takedown!
     
  16. blitzk Red Belt

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    8,070
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Baja
    Yes and No.

    It was sort of a throw and Jones landed on all four, so it counts as a takedown for statistic purposes, but in no way should it be scored as a takedown in judging; takedowns are not "awarded points", the correct term is "effective grappling", and it constitutes not only taking the opponent down but controlling, being aggressive and inflicting damage as a result of performing that maneuver.
     
  17. Judoxing Red Belt

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    9,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    It wouldn't be scored as one in wrestling. Takedowns should only be counted when control is established.
     
  18. electricfuneral Red Belt

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,704
    Likes Received:
    678
    Location:
    Anywhere, USA

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.