Is muay thai as complex and as hard to learn as BJJ?

Discussion in 'Muay Thai and Kickboxing' started by Gripme, Aug 4, 2015.

1. Gripme

Gripme White Belt

I took a very watered down American kickboxing class which I didn't get a thing out of. I blame this more on a lousy instructor than the art itself. Other than that I have little experience in striking.

Then I started taking BJJ and realized that this system was far more intricate and that even after over a year of training I'm still just scratching the surface and barely consider myself a novice.

I'm interested in Muay Thai, but want to know if it is as complex as BJJ or if one can learn all there is to know of it a lot sooner.

2. wookie brawl

wookie brawl Brown Belt

Muay Thai is simpler to decipher but it takes a lot of time to get good at it. Like BJJ & other things in life, there is no short cuts if you want to be anywhere decent.

3. Gripme

Gripme White Belt

I would assume that the techniques though are simpler compared to a delariva guard to berimbolo you might see in high level bjj.

4. Da Speeit

Da Speeit CANCEROUS POSTER Platinum Member

In bed with your bitch, watching game of thrones,
    Muay Thai can't be deciphered imo. There's so much that just doesn't make sense, so many contradicting principles. That's why it's beautiful.

5. Da Speeit

lol please.

6. sereneview

sereneview White Belt

I currently take both and imo being relaxed is HUGE when it comes to both. A lot of my instructors always tell to conserve energy and let the fight come to you so you have time to process, counter, and conquer.

Muay Thai for me is a fav just because I love to strike and break down my opponent when it comes to jiu jitsu its a very humbling/patient art that needs to be appreciated and absorbed slowly.

7. gameclucks

gameclucks White Belt

Making a pizza only take an hour to learn the basics, same with MuayThai.

Only a select few that spends years honing their art become masters.

8. Da Speeit