Improve cardio by going vegetarian?

Discussion in 'Dieting / Supplement Discussion' started by shera, Oct 12, 2010.

1. shera

shera Brown Belt

I remember hearing Joe Rogan commenting that Frank Mir switched to a vegetarian diet to improve his cardio. I'm no diet expert but I don't see how cutting out meat, especially if you train, lift weights, etc. would help you physically. While on the topic, I also heard alcohol ruins your cardio as well but from what I understood, you'll tire quickly after drinking because it's a diuretic and will dehydrate you. If, say, you drink on a Friday night and aren't due back in the gym til Monday, there should be no problem, right? Or am I missing something? Any nutritionists here?

2. Blackice

Blackice Orange Belt

Going vegetarian doesn't improve your cardio any more than if you eat clean including meat. Training hard in said cardio does, because the more you do it, the more your body adapts, the easier it becomes. You then have to push yourself harder to get to where it feels challenging again to make gains. Alcohol shouldn't be a problem provided you're not drinking a lot right before you train, or try to do it if you're hungover unless you'd like to punish yourself for said drinking. Training a couple days after you partied shouldn't affect your training if you're doing everything else right.

3. 10thpjj

10thpjj Green Belt

Going veggie = Worst. Idea. Ever.

4. junkyard dog

junkyard dog Orange Belt

The veggie theory is bs in my opinion. Also alcohol consumption can effect more than just cardio as this has been brought up in many threads. Im sure you can find them if you just use the search function

5. JUST BLEED

JUST BLEED Guest