I'm Studying For The CPA Exam. Need Advice

Discussion in 'Mayberry Lounge' started by MikeHolmes, Aug 10, 2016.

1. MikeHolmes

MikeHolmes Green Belt

This exam is fairly extensive. So while I'm trying to study all the material, my inner voice is telling me that I'm an idiot and that I don't understand the material. I achieved a 4.00 GPA in school, so I had to have at least been doing something right. However, as the day goes on, it makes me angry and bitter towards your "average" person, who I perceive as not having to fight that battle within themselves. So, studying essentially makes me hate myself and then hate others due to envy.

Anyways, I have told my therapist this, but she says that I must be doing something right to achieve good grades. However, I would really like to break this negative cycle of thoughts towards myself and others. What approaches can I use while studying to alleviate negative thoughts?

2. Drenalin

Drenalin Banned Banned

My advice would be to choose a career path that's more exciting. Personally I'd lose it if i was stuck in an office all day doing math

Edit: you might already be losing it. Time for a change

MikeHolmes likes this.
  3. MikeHolmes

MikeHolmes Green Belt

I'm old. Too late to turn back. If I were younger, I probably would have chose a more exciting career path.

4. Drenalin

Drenalin Banned Banned

Well at least you're successful. No one can take that from you. You'll certainly make decent money

MikeHolmes likes this.
  5. kahiljabroni

kahiljabroni Brown Belt

I was actually on pace to be in your shoes. I had a 4.0 in a very good accounting school, was a year away from BA and was gonna pursue CPA. My advice is enjoy it, don't stress it...obviously you know the material.

MikeHolmes likes this.
  6. KBE6EKCTAH_CCP

KBE6EKCTAH_CCP Arrow sash belt with papakhka

As someone who passed CFA level I and II but chronically fails level III my advice is :