I'm having issues with being mounted..

Altephor

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
That sounds dirty, I know.

Anyways, I started training in BJJ last week, today will be my third class. Obviously, I have not learned a heaping amount of things in 2 classes, but I feel like I am definitely learning useful techniques. The first class was all about sweeps and gaining side control from being in guard, and the second was learning forward/backward rolls and applying them to variations of the armbar.

Anyways, twice I have partnered with the same kid in the class, and during open sparring he always seems to be able to go to mount quite effortlessly. Once he has me in mount I find myself basically useless, so I'm looking for techniques that I could at least attempt to use in the situation. I found one on lockflow.com where I would go from mount to an ankle lock, but I'm looking for more in case that doesn't work.

upa, shrimp and patience.

It's your third class - you're supposed to be getting mounted effortlessly. Work on what your instructor teaches rather than looking up techniques on the internet. I learned this the hard way and wished some one had told me.

(Actually, I think Montanha tried to tell me on this forum, but I was an idiot noob. Still am.)

I wouldn't worry too about it being that you've only been to two classes. I understand your concern though. We've all been there. I don't think I knew how to tie my belt after two classes. :icon_chee

If you're looking for something more, I would focus on learning proper technique to keep him from passing rather than learning mount escapes. In my opinion, in the long run, learning how to effectively (per your instructor) break down his posture will open many more doors than learning a mount escape.

the best thing you can do is ask your instructor, he should beable to show you alot better than we can describe to you over the net