How would Sherdog fix the economy?

shitpostmodern

Yellow Belt
@Yellow
Reaction score
As an economics student, I'm curious what my fellow sherdoggers would do to fix the current economy if they were placed in a "benevolent dictator" type of position. What would your top priority (don't say "jobs") be for getting the economy back on track?

Responses need not be in-depth, just clear enough to encourage discussion.

Here's mine. I'm kind of into urban/labor econ, so my policies revolve around what economists in these fields generally support. By no means is this supposed to be exhaustive:

1) Decouple healthcare and labor markets (there is a lot to unpack here, and it doesn't necessarily mean a single-payer system).

2) Modest minimum wage increases in major cities, generous expansion of EITC (alternatively wage subsidies, direct cash transfers could be used)

3) Encourage mixed-use development in major cities, discourage driving to reasonable extents (either through gas taxes, toll roads); couple with public transit where population density is high enough

4) Open the US to trade, but as this is done, implement worker retraining programs so that people are able to continue supporting themselves

Anyway, apologies for disappearing for a bit there. Finals were kicking my butt (calculus 2 brutalized me).

Fill the private sector with uppercuts.

The economy is doing well so I don't like the implication of "fix the economy" but two ideas that I like that have been stated in the WR before are a kind of social security for children and/or a basic income. I like expanding the EIC and also like the idea of putting some policy in place that kicks in at a certain UE level that works to get us back to full employment (avoids the political bullshit and slow action when fast action is needed). I'm not a fan of MW laws (good intentions) but while we are using that system modest increases are badly needed, but I'd rather address those problems with the former suggestions.