How to protect your squash?

easilysubmitted

Orange Belt
@Orange
Reaction score
after sparring or fighting when youve taken a few good shots to the head, nothing too serious tho, what do you guys recommend/do to keep, your head healthy. I know staying hydrated is very important but what other advice do you have?

Looking at preventing long term side-effects here.

Thanks guys

Don't get hit.

Sorry, that wasn't funny. But, seriously, I feel that if you're sparring you and your partner should be exhibiting control, especially as far as head shot are concerned. Plus, if you're sparring full-contact, it wouldn't be a bad idea to where head gear.

If your worried about your brain slowing down, use it more, play mind games. Such as chess, crossword puzzles, sudoku (anything that gets your brain fizzing). It's proven to stop alzheimer

I am no scientist either, but I don't think your brain cells can heal or regenerate. If they get damaged or lossed I think that is it for them and if some do repair it is a very smll %. So things like crossword puzzles won't help. It will help prevent alzhiemers, but won't help with taking to many blows to the head.
Best thing you can do is block your head more, bob and weave, and/or wear headgear. And even though farmboy was only kidding around he is right, not getting hit in the head is the best way to prevent getting hit in the head (obvious, but true)
Also farmboy made another good point about using some control when sparring (especially when going for the head).

well if you're used to straining your brain it wont be so hard to strain to do regular things when you're brain damaged

Every cell in the body regenerates, the healthier the cells the better they regenerate. Your brain's made out of cells, if it didn't repair, then all the people who drink regulary would be dribbling wrecks. Also eat fish regulary.