How to fight a wrestler ?

GoatArtemLobov

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
I have been training bjj for 2 years and I have a background as a boxer. Btw I suck in wrestling and kicking.
I'm very tall and lanky and have tremendous cardio (triathlon background too).
I'm actually a very cheap version of the Diaz bros.
Sometimes I attend mma class and I find myself having a very hard time against pure wrestlers.
They score a takedown with ease, stall it out for a while, then go back up to their feet because I am good enough on my back to not take too much gnp and represent a threat to them.
So, which strategy should I adopt in the striking department to not get taken down by a wrestler as a pure boxer ?
I know this isn't the striking forum, but wrestlers are the ones who know the more about takedown defense, that's why I ask here.

- ask if 22÷7 is more true for a circumference of a circle than pi.
- quote Finnigans Wake.
- quiz them in which two countries in South America are landlocked.

Man the answer is simple but not easy. You just have to have better BJJ than them. Develop your guard.

tbh i feel unless you knock guy out hes gonna get his hands on you at some point of the fight thats just the way it is...
especially in local mma shows as they use very small cages 16-20 feet not lots of room to move your gonna get put near the fence eventually really learn some good single/double leg defenses and learn how to properly wall walk getting back to your feat theirs tons of great vids online about it tbh

just being honest with you

here is some great vids one of gsps old mma coaches danaher black belt

I have been training bjj for 2 years and I have a background as a boxer. Btw I suck in wrestling and kicking.
Sometimes I attend mma class and I find myself having a very hard time against pure wrestlers.