how to defend powerslam when going for triangle?

rEdShawks

Brown Belt
Reaction score
ive seen enough people going for a triangle against a bigger opponent and getting piked up and slammed into an unconscious world, to make me wonder how not to let this happen to me. i then though maybe hold his leg as he picks u up, but then saw some gruesome grappling video where a guy did that then the bigger guy pretty much broke his spine by putting his weight on him so the back of his feet touched the back of his head.

So im not a grappling expert thats why im asking here, so how u prevent a powerslam?

If you are at a good angle and have his head controlled it should be very hard for him to stand and pick you up. Of course there will always be the monsters that will be able to muscle their way to their feet, but the average person shouldn't be able to do that if you're at the correct angle and have their posture controlled. Even if they try to, if you hook that leg early enough, they won't get much height for a slam, and if they try to stack, scoot yourself back and extend your hips to keep the distance, or just switch to an armbar or omoplata.

^^^^^^^^^^
truth
build that angle, and if you're going to grab the leg, hook over the knee to buckle them if they try to stand

Get the angle and hook the leg is going to be the best way to avoid the slam.

What kind of grappling is this where all this slamming is allowed?

Get the angle and hook the leg is going to be the best way to avoid the slam.

probelm with that is he can go back down and bend your foot to ure head and break ure back, i saw a video where some guy did that it was gruesome

Hook the leg Johnny.

seewhatyoudidthereidid.jpg

~Foz

probelm with that is he can go back down and bend your foot to ure head and break ure back, i saw a video where some guy did that it was gruesome