How to deal with someone getting close?

Discussion in 'Standup Technique' started by DuckandCover, Jan 19, 2013.

1. DuckandCover

DuckandCover White Belt

Hi all, a bit of background info to start:

I'm a tall southpaw who's crossed over from Muay Thai to boxing, i had 8 MT fights and hope to fight amateur boxing in 2 months. I spar out of a side on stance with my weight on the back foot, i basically self taught myself from Kenny Weldon tapes.

At range I'm doing better than fine but I'm getting flustered and losing a lot of points when they finally get in on me. I counter them on the way in often but they're happy to take a shot to land 4.

Should i be looking to just shell up? Do i need to change my stance to more square when they get in?

Noob questions I'm sorry, Muay Thai whenever they got this close I turned it into a clinch fight.

2. justdutch

justdutch White Belt

it's because most of your weight is on your back foot. This way it's not that easy to slip or cross and very hard to get out of the way (go backwards or circle) when someone gets in. Its hard to do anything when someone is very close coming in with hooks and you have all your weight on your back foot.

3. sourdiesel209

sourdiesel209 Green Belt

the weight on the back foot is fine... your probably not familiar with the boxing inside game thats why your having so much trouble..

You should square a bit more yes, but most importantly,(Im assuming your taller since your playing the game at range) you want to drop your elevation from the knees so your opponent doesnt have all the leverage to land body shots at will..

If you wanna get out, just pivot on your place to get an angle then make some space with your jab..

4. cms9690

cms9690 Green Belt

Also, you can clinch in boxing.

5. DuckandCover

DuckandCover White Belt

Thanks for the tips, I've been clinching but being told i'd lose points for it in a match.

6. fightingrabbit

fightingrabbit Banned Banned

Tell them to back off..Or else!