How to Counter a Counter punch..

Mike334

White Belt
Reaction score
I'm a rookie at boxing and I was hitting mitts with my trainer yesterday. I am 158lbs and I am 6'1". My trainer was around 5'5", 5"6 at the most but he is VERY quick. I would throw a jab and he would step back and counter my jab with a right while I was getting my hands back to my face. I was wondering if there was any way to counter his counter. I don't mind taking the first hit if I have to, but I don't want the right he throws to lead to a combo. If yall have any other tips about countering a counter, please put them here as well. Thanks.

I'm a rookie at boxing and I was hitting mitts with my trainer yesterday. I am 158lbs and I am 6'1". My trainer was around 5'5", 5"6 at the most but he is VERY quick. I would throw a jab and he would step back and counter my jab with a right while I was getting my hands back to my face. I was wondering if there was any way to counter his counter. I don't mind taking the first hit if I have to, but I don't want the right he throws to lead to a combo. If yall have any other tips about countering a counter, please put them here as well. Thanks.

Of course. A counter is just a punch and every punch can be countered. The best way to avoid the counter is to be active, good footwork and headmovement, non punching hand covering chin, punching hand coming back quickly. And your shot has to land.

Just work on the fundamentals. Your reflexes will improve. There's no grand strategy to countering the countering counter punch really.

well first of all you shouldnt give him the opportunity to counter your jab in the first place.

good thing about the jab is that its relatively safe and i think you should tighten your defense first (because when youre getting punished for only jabbing then your defense is still too bad ) instead of doing counter-counters or something! ^^

like the poster above said