How the hell do you absorb it all?

Scut

White Belt
Reaction score
I just did an introduction to BJJ last night at a local gym. It was an hour long where an instructor and one of her students worked with me on the basics I would need to know to get going in their regular classes.

First off; I've never done anything like this before, no highschool wrestling, no martial arts, I'm a complete newb. But it was awesome, I really loved it. My question is how the hell do you absorb everything you're taught? I find myself sitting here this morning thinking about everything I learned last night trying my hardest to remember each step I was shown. I was shown a buck and roll, scissor sweep, a pass from guard to side control, side control to mount and the basic mechanics of a choke / armbar.

Again it was so much fun, but how do you deal with such a large amount of knowledge that is out of your realm of understanding when you first started out? Also, does everyone look like a real dumbass when they attempt to learn how to forward shrimp? Or just me? I could not for the life of me grasp wtf that was about.

Anyway, I had a great time and can't wait to go back.

You don't remember everything. You will take things that work with your game/body type etc and those will click fastest. The rest you'll pick up with enough repetition.

how do you absorb/learn anything? repitition

take notes, keep a training log, drill hundreds of reps

Learn what you can and right after try to use it during your rolls.

Don't worry, your instructor will probably show you those techniques 10 more times as long as you keep going to your class. You don't learn everything at once, but more over time