How often to lift? Complete beginner here

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

SixTwoSix

Hey I'm just starting lifting, mostly working on my upper body, shoulders, biceps, triceps, back, chest, and looking to add on a good amount of weight. I have all the free time in the world, what would be the best as far as how often I should be lifting? Every other day? Every day? I'm a complete noob at this sorry. Thanks for the info.

Read the FAQ

or

gtfo-56265.jpg

read faq,

now that i got that off my chest, when i was a beginner i used to do a 5 day spread:

mon - shoulders
tues - back
wed - legs
thurs - arms (bis/tris)
fri - chest

now that i know better, i only lift 3 days a week and do cardio on the off days, gives your body time to rest/grow, which means u can lift heavier, plus i was doin lots of curls/calf raises/ tri ext / ghey isolation moves which i now regret

these days i do a 3 day spread with mostly compound movement exercises:

mon - press day (bench, military, cleans, dips, etc)

wed - squat day (lots of squatting, some leg press, etc )

fri - pull day (deadlifts, tons of rows, pullups/chinups, maybe a curl or 2 at the end of workout if i have some strength leftover)

so i went from 5 days a week to 3 days a week and ive gotten much bigger and stronger

true story .

Alright, so I'm going to work on my legs. I am a COMPLETE beginner, this is what I'm thinking on my upper body days (every other day):

Squats (works upper too right?)
Dead lift
Curls
Bench Press
Dumbell press for shoulders
Tricep extensions

5x5 for all?

626, think of your split as in movements. Have a PUSH day, a PULL day, and a SQUAT day.

mon - press day (bench, military, cleans, dips, etc)

wed - squat day (lots of squatting, some leg press, etc )

fri - pull day (deadlifts, tons of rows, pullups/chinups, maybe a curl or 2 at the end of workout if i have some strength leftover)

Actually just do that routine, but throw in some lunges and Goodmornings on your squat day.