How often for squats?

tdluxon

Red Belt
@red
Reaction score
Just curious how often other people do/recommend doing squats. Obviously an important lift, I've had some people tell me they do them almost every other day (3x/week), and others I know take a 2-3 day break to recover each time.

Thoughts?

It depends on a lot of things, mostly your experience level and how intensely you're squatting. If you're going super heavy, then doing them 3x a week might be too much on top of everything. Beginners usually see a lot of improvement with a high squatting frequency, but as the weight increases, the intensity gets too much and they need more time to recover from a brutal squat session.

I'm by no means an expert or great at squatting (its actually my worst powerlifting lift, so take that with a grain of salt) but I squat 1-2 times a week. I like to go heavy one day, and then have higher rep front squats on another. Now I'm toying with doing heavy back squats and mid rep front squats on a different day one week, and alternating that with high rep back squats the next week.

I squat one day, deadlift another, and do a shit ton of BJJ and Judo. If you're training to be good at lifting then 2x a week is probably fine, but don't overdo it if you're primarily training to help you in another sport.

Thanks (and I actually mean it this time). Just curious to get other people's take on it.

Starting strength basically calls for squats/deadlifts ~2x per week. I think that's not a bad place to start.

1-3x a week, depending on program. If you are doing heavy deadlifts weekly it's going to be more difficult to do heavy squats more than once a week. You can easily squat 2x a week and deadlift 1x a week though, just gotta think about the programming and schedule.

Starting strength basically calls for squats/deadlifts ~2x per week. I think that's not a bad place to start.

The original Starting Strength program calls for Squats 3 times/week and deadlifts 3 times every two weeks.