How often do you take a week off from the gym?

Discussion in 'Strength & Conditioning Discussion' started by Bme26, Oct 7, 2013.

1. Bme26

Bme26 Green Belt

I've been working consistently for the last 5 months, 6 days a week. I've decided to take a week off, since I've been feeling pretty tight and beat down lately. I'm curious how often other take breaks??

2. big_john127

big_john127 Profess¡onal Lurker

Whenever life makes me take a break.

Between work and marriage the gym is the only time I have for myself during the week, and I am loathe to give that up.

3. FyrFytr998

FyrFytr998 Too many pots on the stove.

This. If I got the time I will train. But if life has my plate full, well a Dad has to do what a Dad has to do.

I often find the week off recharges to old batteries.

4. LatFlare

LatFlare EADC

Watching a snail crawl along a straight razor.
    I never really take a break longer than 3 days at the moment. I find that 2-3 days of taking it easy, or even better doing something like yoga, going for a surf or some relatively easy form of cross training, will be enough to recharge and I'll be itching to get back into it.

Not sure exactly how often, but certainly within a period of 5 months hard training, or if I have trained specifically for something hard then after that.

5. gspieler

gspieler Silver Belt

Only if I'm injured...and I mean seriously injured. If its a minor thing, there's always swimming, isometrics, and yoga. Other than those rare occasions, never.

note: when you say "gym", I take that to mean exercise, i.e. the city streets might be my gym if I'm going for a run or something.

6. DrBdan

DrBdan Something clever

I generally don't schedule in breaks or deloads because life usually throws them in for me. The only time I plan on taking off usually is the week between Xmas and New Years.

7. StupidityKills

StupidityKills Green Belt