How many people here train MMA as a hobby

pheonix5

Purple Belt
Reaction score
With no aspirations of fighting ammy or going pro? And do you feel it's worth it,time and money wise?

I've been training muay thai and jujitsu for 3 years. After 6 months of muay thai I started training full time, 6 hours a day (recently graduated, had a fulltime job for a bit and saved some cash) and at 1 year I went to train in Bangkok for 2 months. Everyone asked me "when are you going to fight", "what are you planning to do", and in all honesty I was only training for my own satisfaction and the fact that it kept me focused and away from partying and crime. I had no aspirations to compete at all.

2 months ago I had my first ammy fight in muay thai, and I'm planning to have a few more this year. My plans? None. I'm just trying to better myself as a person and in muay thai, and to see my potential.

If it makes you happy do it. Money is wasted everyday on pointless things, might aswell use one that is beneficial to your health and mind. Of course one could consider it a waste of time if someone trains all week, then gets hammered on the weekends pretty much taking 2 steps back from whatever progress they made, but too each their own.

Yah, I guess I do Muay Thai for a hobby. One thing I noticed about combat sports is that the nature of the training sort of preps you for the next level. Weather it be from hitting bags and pads to sparring, sparring to smoker fights, from smokers to ammy comp, or ammy comp to pro. So to tell you the truth I'm not sure were I want to draw the line. When I first started this stuff I originally wanted to just get a good workout and spar occationally. Now I find that I try to spar more because 1. I feel I learn the most doing that and 2. It has become fun to me. Now it seems I want to experience some type of competition. But, I'm not a really competitive guy, I do this mostly for spiritual reason not so much to win or lose.