How many new moves can you remember in a class?

Sloth

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
I'm curious, how many new techniques can you effectively remember in a one hour class without getting overwhelmed and starting to blur them all together, or just not remembering them at all?

When I started training, the norm was to teach 3 differents moves per day.

But the instructor realised that people just got confused so he just teach one move (and a few variations) per class instead.

I try for one, Im happy if I really understand one. the rest is gravy.

I'm pretty good at this. I may not get the physical memory of it, but I can explain the details of any class within the last month.'

I'm comfortable with 3 to 5 new techniques at a time, but I know for sure it would be better to do no more than 3. That's just a talent I have and would gladly trade to actually be able to do the things I can remember...but oh well.

Depends a lot on how they are taught.

For example, if I spend 10 mins teaching one, then go to another, then another then another, chances are they'll be forgot.

But if they lead into each other, so that in order to get to that 4th, you have to do the first 3, or at least attempt them, then people are more likely to remember all 4.

Or if there is a "review" that helps as well. Something like
Technique 1 for 10 mins
Technique 2 for 10 mins
Alternate Technique 1 & 2 for 5 mins
Technique 3 for 10 mins
Alternate Technique 1,2 & 3 for 10 mins

People will remember something a lot better if you do it, then do something else, then get them to do it again.

Another example would be a flow drill, I could teach:
guard pass -> Side
Side -> mount
Bridge & Roll -> Guard

to a brand new student, and they would have the general feel for each. Could probably even through in a sweep & elbow escape. There would be very little in terms of details retained, but the basic concept could be retained.