How long does it take to get a black belt at Gokor's Hayastan Academy?

ThaiFighter_83

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
So I just joined Gokor's tonight, and now I'm going to be taking the MMA class without gi once a week, the Judo/Jiu-jitsu/Sambo class with gi once a week, and drilling the shit out of all the stuff they teach me on those two days throughout the rest of the week with my other workout partners. I'm a total newbie when it comes to grappling, but I intend to take this very seriously and learn as much as I can. I'm 25 now...how do you think it would take me to get to black belt? 35? 40? Do I have to win any tournaments to recieve a black belt or do I just take a test?

no offense, but these are the guys that usually quit because they think that they should get their blue belt within a couple of months

Why don't you just ask Gokor? I'm sure he'll be happy to tell you.

I had asked a question somewhat simlar to yours and it brought the same responses.(Heres another guy whos gonna be gone in a week or a month etc) What I have decided is to find out by doing it. I think as you progress if you made another post as an update later down the road it could be helpful to others but ultimately I think you need to answer your own question the same as I need to answer mine by doing it. Good luck.

I support that you go up to Gokor and ask: "when do I get my blackbelt."

Make sure you videotape it please.

I support that you go up to Gokor and ask: "when do I get my blackbelt."

Make sure you videotape it please.

I think he'll get better results if he phrases it like "when do I get my black belt, chief?"

But seriously, you've got a great opportunity at Hayastan and you're still young.
Make the most of it, good luck.

I think he'll get better results if he phrases it like "when do I get my black belt, chief?"

But seriously, you've got a great opportunity at Hayastan and you're still young.
Make the most of it, good luck.

And don't forget to tell him your Turkish.