How long did you train before your first tournament?

lakergirl52

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
How long did you train before your first tournament?

I've only been training for a couple weeks but want to compete sometime in the future. My longish term goal is to compete at the Arnold's in March/April next year. Probably catch a more local tourney before that. I'm thinking about competing after I've been doing this for a couple months, and was just wondering how green everyone was when they did their first tournament/competition.

2 weeks. Not smart on my part but I had an extensive wrestling background.

After about 2 years. My performance was pretty meh. I think it's better to get out of the way as a white belt. At that level you can afford to make stupid mistakes (I sure as hell did) and even if you do you might still win a few fights.

6 months. it's always good to see where you stand.

About 8-9 months in for me, and I still had no clue what I was doing.

Go try it just to learn what it's like, and try not to care whether you win or lose. Just try to enjoy the experience, support your team, have fun, and learn what it feels like to compete.

I competed after 3 months of trainning. Only because my instructor told me too, it seemed kind of soon for me but I trusted his opinion.

3 months. I went one and done losing to the eventual champ in no-gi and came in second in the gi at NAGA DC.

2 months. Actually won my no-gi division at Naga with 3 wins.

2 weeks. This was like 5 years ago...I got smashed by my first opponent and my second opponent in nogi ended up being a teammate of mine (when I signed up I did not put a team down because I was a bit awkward and felt that it might be too early to compete under the banner of a school I had been to like 3 or 4 times) and at the time I didn't want to compete against him. So I had one match...got cross choked mount and went home.