1. We now have a new forum called Fantasy Matchup Discussion. Access it here

How do you know when its time to move on to the next move?

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by lakergirl52, Oct 7, 2010.

1. lakergirl52

lakergirl52 Yellow Belt

I've reevaluated how I've been training and what I'm going to be doing from now on is working on 2-4 specific things when I roll/train. I'm only a 2 month white belt, so I know I have a lot to work on. I'm keeping a list of things, then will be moving on when it's time to move on. But how do you know when it's time for you to move on from focusing on a specific technique or move? Is it when you can hit on someone bigger than you? Hit it on a higher belt? Hit it on a regular training partner on a regular basis?

For example, I'm working the scissor sweep. I'm just getting started into it and want to keep working it for a while. I was thinking about moving on when I could hit this on a higher belt or someone who was way more advanced than me. Would this be right?

2. lechien

lechien Gold Belt

My first sweep I used all the time was the scissor sweep.

I was succesfull at it until all my training partners start learning how to counter it.

then I moved to a modified omplata sweep..then it was the simple hip bump swee.

At the moment, I am into the sit up guard sweep.

It is all about how quickly your training partners catch up with your moves then you need to come up with something new.

3. 177ark

177ark White Belt

You don't necessarily have to move on. Keep using it, but learn moves that combo well with what you already have. Your ability to threaten the move you already know makes the next move in the combo much easier to hit. Since you have the scissors sweep, you might learn the reverse scissors sweep in case they counter.

4. lethalazn

lethalazn Purple Belt

preferably behind you, with both hooks sunk in
    For all of 2008 I was fixated with the armdrag from guard and taking the back from guard