how do you handle an upcoming extremely stressful event UPDATE p. 6

lakersfan45

That's sardo! No mr, accent on the do!
@Gold
Reaction score
i havent slept for days and i'm on the verge of a nervous breakdown. i'm a graduate student working towards my PhD in biochemistry. tomorrow is my advancement, its an oral exam with 5 professors. you present your current and future research for an hour and they ask you questions - any question related to your field or projects and you have to answer them. they also have to find your current and proposed research valuable enough to continue.

last year someone in my lab failed and she left our group. its a pretty big thing if you fail. ive been preparing for three weeks and i don't know what i would do if i failed.

all of this is compounded by my social anxiety. i hate presenting (all though its something ive learned to do and deal with), but when you mix in the pressure of an exam like this with my social anxiety its really hard for me to cope. my head is spinning and i'm having trouble relaxing.

so what do you guys do to relax in a situation like this. usually i would watch tv or take my dog for a walk but nothing is working at all.

Last edited:
Sounds like you should be excited. It's the culmination of your journey towards higher learning.

Let me let you in on a little Nordic secret.

"When you are faced with troubles and in want of sleep, sleep. The troubles will still be there in the morning and you will be better able to face them with a clear head."

Sounds like you should be excited. It's the culmination of your journey towards higher learning.