How do professional boxers train?

Discussion in 'Strength & Conditioning Discussion' started by wildcard_seven, Jul 12, 2005.

1. wildcard_seven

wildcard_seven Purple Belt

Those fuckers are in good shape. Better, I would wager, than 99% of your MMA and kickboxing guys.

2. Urban

Urban Savage Mystic

actually you'd be wrong. The VO2 max of kickboxers is regularly better than that of boxers.

edit: I'd actually like to retract this statement since I'm unable to substatiate it. I beleive I read it somewhere but I can't find my source. I'll keep looking but until then, best to beleive it's false.

3. 007

007 License to Kill

i want to say wrestlers are more enduranced trained but I am no professional on this topic.

4. Nanthony

Nanthony White Belt

I believe Rocky Musicano, a legendary boxer in the earlier 1900's (?), used to train in water up to his neck.

5. Chad Hamilton

Chad Hamilton Amateur Fighter

Who's Rocky Musicano?

6. RobT

RobT Purple Belt

I think people assume boxers are in better condition than MMA fighters due to appearance only. Fact is, the weight limits in boxing are far tighter and it makes sense for them to get into the lowest they can so they all tend to cut as much as possible.

You can't really tell what someone's cardio is like just from appearance, otherwise bodybuilders would be the best conditioned people around.

7. Sinister

Sinister Doctor of Doom Staff Member Senior Moderator

No but you can tell cardio by who can fight ten or more rounds and who can't. Of course there are variables, but the only weight class in boxing where fat guys don't routinely get their asses kicked because they're fat is the heavyweight division, and even then it happens a lot.

8. RobT

RobT Purple Belt

Yeah, but there is no way to compare them on that. MMA fighters do 3-5 5min rounds of MMA. Boxers do 4-12 3min rounds of boxing. So unless you take the guys to the gym then there is no way to compare.