How do I increase endurance?

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by stingray 5, Sep 18, 2010.

1. stingray 5

stingray 5 Orange Belt

I have been doing bjj for about 6 months. My problem is when I roll, I tire out in a few minutes. Any advice?

2. cooltoon999

cooltoon999 Orange Belt

Really? Run, swim, bike, roll more?

3. DeadAim713

DeadAim713 Blue Belt

Roll more. The only way to build endurance for grappling is by grappling.

4. stingray 5

stingray 5 Orange Belt

Thanks. I guess I SHOULD roll more. I do run but I can run a lot longer than I can roll, so I was just wondering if there was a more applicable exercise to rolling. I guess rolling is the best way to get better and rolling!

5. aldenton

aldenton Blue Belt

what he said. I do all types of cardio, but when I first started grappling i would gas quickly. It's just seems to be a different type of cardio, one that engages the whole of your body.

You'll get used to it... but in the mean time... HIT THE MATS!

6. Sniper1987

Sniper1987 Orange Belt

only thing comparable without actually rolling is swimming, it's a full body cardiovascular workout. But running for 45 minutes will translate to grappling. Running for 45 will equate to rolling for 15 at the same intensity. (grappling is like sprinting)

7. blfdgrappler

blfdgrappler Orange Belt

When I first started with a group of guys, we all rolled to a round timer set at three minutes. I can remember gasping like a fish at the end. Some time later, we rolled for five minutes. That jump seemed like leaping the Grand Canyon; I was sucking wind to the point I was barely able to catch my breath, and often my hands were shredded from the gripping. Soon, we were rolling for seven, ten, and fifteen minutes. Now, we still use the timer depending on what we are doing, but sometimes we just roll until someone gets submitted, which depending on the skill level, can easily go in excess of 15 minutes.