How did you get into wrestling?

rammsteiner**

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
Hi I'm looking to start training in wrestling and I just wanna know from the wrestlers here how you guys went about doing so? My high school never had a team so unfortunately I never got the ability to do it except for gym class. So how did some of you guys get into? And is there any advice you would give to a guy wanting to get into it?

Any and all help/advice would be greatly appreciated.

My sister was friends with some of the guys on the team and they needed a little guy because that weight class was open, 20 years later I'm a coach.

well i was around 13 and my favorite movie was the crow. i was flipping the channels one day i saw this guy sting in white and black makeup just like brandon lee in the crow. he would come down from the rafters with a baseball bat and beat the crap out of these guys from a group called the nWo. from then on i was hooked until wcw folded.

one of my best friends that was a state placer his freshmen year talked me out of playing baseball to wrestle instead. I had more fun in the 3 years that I wrestled than the 12 years I played baseball.

Only advise is have fun and if it's your first year expect alot of people to be better than you but don't sweat over it if you don't make varsity.

Ohh yeah, do offseason clinics, practices, and tournaments. they help a ton

I had tried out for the basketball team in 7th grade. Unfortunately I hadn't considered that there isn't much of a need for short, chubby guys who can't jump, and only run down the court and shoot 3 pointers. One of my friends told me I should try wrestling, and had NO IDEA what amateur wrestling was, I thought I was going to get to hit someone with a chair. 13 years later, I have competed two years in college, currently coaching, and still loving the sport...not as much as I now love BJJ, but still love it nonetheless.