How can I train on consecutive days like other fighters?

Rock Hard

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
I've been training for Muay Thai for several years, and MMA for a few years. I always talk to other fighters at my gyms who say they can train once or twice a day, SIX-SEVEN days per week; whether it be sparring, grappling, running, lifting, or whatever; basically anything requiring exertion or effort.

MY problem has always been that I can only train twice a day every OTHER day. (Usually some lifting and running in the morning for an hour total, and skills training at night for an hour or sometimes two, or sometimes I'll mix it up...maybe grapple and run in the morning, and spar and hit pads at night, etc.)

If I try to do anything that requires effort or exertion on the days in between, I experience all the symptoms of over-reaching syndrome. Basically, I burn out. And I've been working out hard and regularly for 13 years.

Here's another paradox...I can train twice a day every other day for two hours in each session, but I can't even train ONCE a day for 45 minutes. Otherwise, I burn out. It feels like once I have exerted my body in a day (regardless if it was for 4 hours or just 10 minutes), once I go to sleep...My body goes into repair mode for that whole next day. Basically, I feel burnt out, and do NOT want to exercise. If I do, I get sick, and my performance drastically drops.

What is my genetic limit that provides this "every-other-day" recovery crap? What supplement might I be deficient in? I eat a balanced diet every 2 hours, I get 8-9 hours of sleep every night, I drink water all day, I stay very chill when I'm not training, etc, etc. I don't know what my problem is! Why can I only spar, grapple, and hit pads every other day, while all the other fighters I know can do it EVERY day?

testosterone-enanthate.jpg

"Train the fighter, not the martial art." -bruce lee