Home Improvement and terrible experiences thread

equus

Horse Belt
Staff member
Senior Moderator
Reaction score
well i dont have anything super terrible. but two weeks ago i had a leak in our garage. initially i thought it was from our garage fridge and the fact that it had somehow had the freezer thaw but it had only tripped and been off for about an hour. upon further sparky/ heisenberg electrical analysis i discovered that i am no electrical expert. i found a leak into our basement mechanical room from our garage wall. i initially though condensation but i went over to the garage wall and found a leak.

felt the leak and it was hot "shower temp" water. i peeled back the sheetrock and followed the pipe up and somehow about 8 years back when our house was built, a framing nail went perfectly into the center of our copper pipe behind our kitchen bathroom wall.

so a trip to home depot and $40 worth of material later i fixed it and saved myself whatever the shit a plumber call on a saturday morning wouldve been.

the only other big pain in the ass was when our fan went out on our ac unit in the basement resulting in our outside unit turning into a giant fucking ice cube. that was only $140 to fix. i know there will be much more shit to fix in due time...

you?

Last edited:
I've lived in 2 new homes in the last 5 years and in both of them the dishwasher was not installed correctly and flooding resulted. The first home the builder ran the washer without tightening all the connections, flooded the kitchen which led to ceiling in the basement needing to be replaced, which threatened our move-in date.

The second home, a shipping plug of some sort was left in place. The dishwasher was ran for awhile with some leaking occuring out of sight. We eventually noticed water staining on the ceiling in the basement and the hardwood floor in the kitchen started to warp. Had to fix both at my own expense.

cliffs: dishwashers suck.

Damnit, that sucks.