High Kicking, your knee is what determines how high you kick

Replay19

Orange Belt
@Orange
Reaction score
is this true? I have been training kicks and stretching for 2 years now and still to this day I cannot kick as high as I want to. kicking at head height is pretty difficult for me at the moment. Although when leaning on a wall and raising my leg as high as I can, I can go above my head, but for some reason when doing the actual kick, my knee always stops me from going as high as I want.

So, one question comes to mind, how does one practice the knee? all I know are front splits, side splits, chinese splits, frog stretch, and etc... but I have no idea how to get the knee up really high so I can extend it out for a kick.

anyone know how to get the knee up high in a chamber for a kick?

With this Brazilian kick you only have to bring the knee to your opponent's waist.

Check out Glaube Feitosa's highlights, he was a master of the Brazilian kick with both legs.

the guy looked like he didn't need to raise his knee up that high... that's interesting. looks like he's only leaning slightly back, and his balance looks good. maybe I just need to practice leaning back a slight bit more and train my balance, but for sure, I know my knee can't go up that high

If you like to chamber your kicks then these are good videos about building up leg strength and chamber strength, he also does some good stretching videos. I'm not a TKD guy but I find this guys videos useful to improve leg dexterity

If you have flexibility, not leaning back is optimal for power and balance. If you dont have flexibility or your opponent is tall you can lean back a little bit.
shutterstock98137298.jpg

Well if its a muay thai kick. I dont have a clue about tkd kicks