Head trainer left taking 20 top fighters with him

Discussion in 'Standup Technique' started by Destillat, Aug 2, 2010.

1. Destillat

Destillat White Belt

Hey guys, this is my first time posting and I have a pretty interesting dilemma. So i began training at this new gym and I've been there for a little over 2 months. 1 month into it the head trainer is suspiciously absent as well as some of our top fighters. I later find out he went to a competing gym with my current gym's top fighters.

My question is has anybody else gone through this type of gym division and how did it turn out? On one hand I am excited because our new head trainer, Coban Lookchaomaesaitong, will be starting soon but with literally half of the best talent in the gym missing, I don't know how the gym will rebuild. Do you think I should stay or check out the gym everybody moved to? One thing that affects the decision is in addition to Coban being an absolutely sick MT trainer he is my weight division and left handed like me.

2. bubkusjones

bubkusjones Brown Belt

I'd stay for a bit (finish off your contract?) and see how things go, how well you mesh with the trainer, the morale of the school following the exodus. Who knows, this may be the best thing for your training.

Worst thing that could happen is you waste some of your time and switch schools.

3. FromNJnoguido

FromNJnoguido Blue Belt

just stay see how it goes and if you dont like it then leave

4. Destillat

Destillat White Belt

morale is definitely low. I foresee more people leaving in the next month

5. bubkusjones

bubkusjones Brown Belt

That sucks, but maybe the new trainer can pick things up and get things organized again.

Do you know why the old trainer left?

6. Destillat

Destillat White Belt