having problems whilst sparring

moodymikey

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Theres a guy at my Muay Thai gym who always goes for me when we spar,and he always just comes out hell for leather and usually gets the upperhand. My problem is that when he comes for me i tend to just back off adn take his attack, throwing the odd punch every now and again.

can anyone offer me some advice on how to deal with this sort of fighter?

Do you think this guy is more intent on hurting you than honestly training? If so I would just ask him to take it a bit easy as you there to learn not to fight.

circle out and counter. If you don't give him reason to stop coming at you then why would he. It's all about the counter. Hey, most knockouts come a counter too. More reason to do so. Are you shorter or taller than him?maybe same height? let me know

don't fear him. if he's intent on hurting you, then hand him back his ass with a smile on your face. confidence is the name of the game.

I'm pretty new to the standup sparring myself and there are a couple of guys at my gym that are the same. So I'm not good enough to really to counter punch my way out. Usually I side step and circle out. Sometimes I get cornered though. But luckily I'm bigger than they are and I can cover up step in and push them off. I think they may have a little "Naploean "complex going on because of their size.

Also since these guys are coming in at full throttle from the get go . If I use movement(circling, not backing up straight) they usually punch themselves out pretty quickly and usually I am doing much better by the later part of the rounds.

Take it for whats its worth ( since I'm relativiely new to the the stand up) Don't go straight back. I was getting my ass handed to me constantly until I broke that habit. I've found that side movement works much better.

Circle, side step, mix up yor combos, jab alot.

Spinning back kick.

When ppl attack continously they tend to square them selves off abit.