have you reached any of your goals

devante

Silver Belt
@Silver
Reaction score
question, we often comment on things we need to add or want to add to our game; have you been able to accomplish any of those said goals in regards to maybe trying out a new style, working on a strategic, or developing new tech...etc.

as for me

1)i have begun to expand my base of knowledge, i.e. i started learning muay thai, i never been a big kick/clinch/knee guy; but im beginning to learn those aspects, not that im okay good or great. I am expanding my knowledge and skills that i can apply in drills and in sparring.

2)sparring more; in the past month and a half i have gotten in more sparring... more consistently than i have had in years, not saying i do it all the time or most of the time. But i have been able to increase the frequency and consistency of my standup sparring...

3)body punching, i was never much of a body puncher; in fact i only used it sparingly at best. But in the past few years i have begun to actively use it, an i can't imagine why i didn't use it before; its actually pretty cool and most people just aren't prepared for that or used to it (mma circles/not boxing circles). Once again i can't say im ok good or great at it; but i have gotten better/more effective w/it and actually can say its part of my game. One of the main reasons i started using it was when sparring w/tma types who were so good at range, maintaining it, increasing it and closing it; i wasn't able to get to the head or assert myself w/my style. So i started working the body, an was able to get to it regardless of how smooth or mobile or fast they were; an then i just started to work it more.

4)staying in and exchanging or being offensive; most of the time i was a stick and move guy, very defensive guy. Often im looking to slip, angle off, parry or block shots; not seeking to actively counter or actively attack, now i make it a point to try and assert myself offensively.