Had a piece of that humble pie last night...

lukasz4k

White Belt
Reaction score
I've been practicing BJJ for two months. I thought to myself that I'm a very good white belt and to be completely honest I was getting a bit cocky (at least in my mind). So last night I rolled with with a (very good) blue belt.

Three arm bars and two minutes later, lesson learned.

I took it as a positive learning experience. It helped me to bring me down to earth.

Go BJJ.

I stopped reading @ "I've been practicing BJJ for two months".

Get used to it, getting schooled can be the most insightful aspect of jiujitsu; it's certainly better for you than beating everyone up all the time.

Besides, as long as you'll be training (even if your a black belt) you will still be getting schooled; it's apart of the game!

It would have been humble pie if you were the blue belt in question, but since you're the two-month white belt, it's just a day in the life.

In fact, by saying you ate humble pie after being tooled by someone you'd expect to be tooled by, well, I can't think of a bigger irony right now.

2 months is way to early to be getting cocky about anything.

That's the only lesson you need to take away from this.

this. Team Garcia may have an opening for an official gatekeeper.

I thought you needed at least three stripes to be official gatekeeper

Two month white belts aren't good at Jiu Jitsu. Come to think of it, blue belts aren't very good either. You need some perspective. Start rolling with brown belts.

Word. Start a fight team, dude.
hahaha! Do it. You should also move into probationary blue belt status.

On the other hand, have you only rolled with brand new white belts prior to this which is why you feel cocky?