Gymnastics, who does it?

Nedrin

Green Belt
@Green
Reaction score
Recently I started gymnastics while also doing lifting and I am now 100% sure that gymnastics is probably one of the best things to do while also doing BJJ, your corestrength and upperbody strength get trained like nothing else. Anyway, I'm obviously still a noob at gymnastics and I only train once a week atm, obviously not enough but i'd like to make out of it what I can. We have free training with a guy that is really good and he will answer your questions if you got any, but its not really training, everything is there and everyone does what they want.

Now my question was, are there any specific gymnastics routines that people follow while training? I could really use any advice that would help me use my time more usefull. Thanks

I'm a noob at BJJ and I'm also a noob when it comes to gymnastics. I'm not taking any formal classes on gymnastics but I've been working on some gymnastics related techniques such as muscle-ups, headstand, handstand, forward roll, and backward roll. I'm trying to work up to handstand pushups. It definitely strengthens your core and other muscles you don't even think about exercising in weight training.

I don't know any specific routines because like I said I don't practice gymnastics in a formal setting but I really like BeastSkills.com

I've run some routines based on Somners Building the Gymnastics Body, but I never made it past the three gymnast rating.
Posted via Mobile Device

I don't have the time, honestly. I'm glad you do, and it's certainly something that can benefit you. If I had a choice though (and the time), I'd add something more directly related to BJJ, like judo or wrestling....something to help with take downs.