Guys...Ask Your Honest Opinion...

canam123

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey Guys,

Wondering if any of you could give me some perspective...

I am 36 years old, 6'3, 240 lbs, 12% body fat (roughly) and I have been training for several years. I tend to have good strength and stamina during general conditioning training.

However, when I do Bas Rutten Thai Boxing (full power) on the heavy bag (10-2 min rounds) it is hard to make it through all ten rounds. I'm dragging my A$% by round 6-8.

Do any of you have a hard time with the Rutten workouts on the heavy bag or is it my conditioning.

Thanks!

I never had an issue with the ten 2 min rounds, but I was doing it shadowboxing and not full power obviously. What I was doing is a lot different than hitting full power on a heavy bag. I think the best conditioned athlete could tire themselves out with ten 2 minute rounds if they were really going at it on every strike.

It's all about pacing. It's physically impossible to go at 100% for the entire 10 rounds. If you dial back your power back to say 50% you will be able to do it with no problem, the challange of course is finding a pace that is challenging but also maintainable.

I'm not sure what you're trying to accomplish from measuring yourself compared to other people. You give a pretty poor description of what your current conditioning level is (and I'm sure even in great detail it would still be inconclusive).

If it works you out and challenges you, I would keep it in your routine and look at it as a gift and a goal, rather than a mark of shame like some obstacle you're embarrassed you can't clear.

What DrB said.

The Rutten rounds are very "dense" (you barely have time to complete a combo before the next one). It is physically impossible to do 10 2-minute rounds like that at 100% intensity. Even more so for a dude your size.

What DrB said.