1. We now have a new forum called Fantasy Matchup Discussion. Access it here

Guard pass- Points awarded question

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by matador1872, Oct 11, 2010.

  1. matador1872

    matador1872 Yellow Belt

    Jun 28, 2006
    Likes Received:
    I'm reffing my first tournement this Saturday and yesterday at a ref meeting a question came up while we scored a match. If someone tries to pass to guard and the bottom player goes to turtle once their side is compromised, are points given for a passed guard. I said no becasue the bottom player went from one guard to another. Same as going from full to half. Am I correct?
  2. lechien

    lechien Gold Belt

    May 9, 2007
    Likes Received:
    it is an advantage.

    "NOTE: if the athlete that is underneath avoids the move by getting to his knees or standing up, the initiative will not be awarded 3 points but will be awarded an advantage."

    International Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Federation

    please note that some people do not consider turtle as a guard.
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2010
  3. ostapbjj

    ostapbjj Orange Belt

    Nov 12, 2006
    Likes Received:
    It really depends on the specific ruleset of the event. But in most cases (including IBJJF), you don't get pass points when the opponent turtles; you get an advantage. To pass, you need to finish in mount or a variation of sidemount (ie. north south, knee on belly, etc.).

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.