Guard Fundamentals

OldTimey

Orange Belt
@Orange
Reaction score
I've been using half guard and butterfly guard a lot lately. I've noticed that I roll a lot better when I don't try to have a gameplan and just let myself do what comes naturally. I'm not sure if it's the product of practicing these two specific guards, or if it's because I'm getting decent at fundamentals. I've been training for almost 4 years.

In your opinion, is focusing on guard fundamentals better than focusing on specific guards? I'm starting to feel like guards are just a tool, and the real skill comes from the understanding of leverage, body positioning, timing, etc.

If this is true, what are the general fundamentals of the basic guards (closed, butterfly, half, spider (seems to be a bit removed))? I feel like a start would be Underhooks, Hip Movement, Not Going Flat, and Timing.

Thanks

As a bjj white belt I'd like to hear what people have to say about guard fundamentals.

You should get the BJJ guard fundementals app by Stephan Kesting and Rob Bernacki. It's all about understanding guard fundementals and concepts and doesn't focus on any one guard.

You should get the BJJ guard fundementals app by Stephan Kesting and Rob Bernacki. It's all about understanding guard fundementals and concepts and doesn't focus on any one guard.

im trying to find this app based on your response but can't find it. are you sure that's the exact name?

My guards really sucked until i figured out your guard has to attack their grips, posture and base. The more of those you control the better.

And to use a guard on a good guy you need to off-balance him or threaten him.

I would focus on the particular details of the guards you are playing rather than vaguely defined fundamentals.
You can't work on say timing as an abstract concept in isolation from a given position.

Last edited:
Some things I try to teach my own kids that seem to help: