Grip Strength For Grappling

PikeKing

White Belt
Reaction score
I've been doing Judo a few months now and I always thought that I would need crazy grip strength.

I've found however that with 10 years or so of lifting, I'm not having any trouble with my grip.

Do the grapplers here do anything specific for their grip strength?

I've always been a fan on towel pull ups and I've been using thick bars for a few years from time to time.

Also can anyone actually do a crossed arm towel/gi collar pullup? I tried them after seeing them in Training For Warriors, I cant do 1 rep as I just spin around!

I am not a fighter/grappler but I imagine grip plays a significant role...esp in Gi Judo grappling...

build your overall hand strength and you'll reap great benefits...

train your support, crush, and pinch grips...as well as your extension/wrist strength...

towel pull ups are great...as are thick bar pull ups/chins, grippers, plate/blob pinching, levering, etc...

a cool rope/gi exercise is doing a pull up then moving one hand at a time upwards and doing pull/chin ups that way...

wrist rollering is bloody great as a grip exercise for grapplers.

Weighted dead hangs from a doubled-up towel are good. I do them one-handed and two-handed, with awkward partial grips like a thumb and two fingers or gripping it upside-down. I do CoCs, pinching and levering, etc, but I feel the towel hangs have the most direct carryover to BJJ.

I went to a Pedro Sauer seminar in the late 90s and he told us how he would bout a Gi on a wooden post and cross choke it LOL.

Rocking Climbing is great for your grip. Ive started climbing and my grip is already improving. Hanging onto a wall by your finger tips while 50ft in the air is good incentive.

Anyone had a towel tear on them doing this? Would a belt be a good substitute? And should it be one towel per hand or what, i'm ~81kg?