Great BMI but no strenght or endurance... (Q from a 40yr old newbie)

James37

White Belt
Reaction score
I noticed that while I'm in good so called shape (BMI wise) I have no strength or endurance during training. I can't punch hard or punch hard for long. My question is about improving endurance and strength but before you guys recommend anything (or tell me to RTFM:) here is a little background...

I'm 40 years old, 5.10 and 152 lbs. Very healthy but also very new. I just started (loving) boxing and kick boxing. I have no prior martial arts background and I don't remember when I was in a gym last time (maybe 20 years ago). My goal (with taking up boxing and kick boxing) is simply to be in better shape (mentally and physically) with some interest in self-defensive applications. Since I'm old(er) and this is just a (serious long term) hobby for me I'm trying to be very carefully about injuries which take longer to recover from (its a gift of getting older). Keeping all that in mind... what recommendations would you guys make for somebody like me who wants to be stronger and have more endurance?

Thanks for all suggestions in advance and... be gentle. :)

First, bmi is shit. It means nothing. In fact it probably means you need to eat a sandwich. Accordding to bmi, I'm borderline obese, and while I'm not exactly sportin a sixpack, I'm not captain beer belly either. It fails to account for a lot, and has no bearing on strength, endurance or any other facet of athletic performance.

As for the rest of your post, you and to get stronger, get better endurance and get better in boxing? Read the faqs, and box more.

For starters, read the FAQs. Then ask any specific questions you have afterwards. Also good is this thread: http://www.sherdog.net/forums/f13/faq-update-beginner-intermediate-routines-1210858/