Grappler's Quest Question

VegasFighter**

Brown Belt
Reaction score
I'm thinking about competing in NOV in the GQ in vegas. I've been training BJJ for about 2 months now, and i hear there is a novice tournament.

My question here is guys at my gym said people hella sandbag there. is that true?

Sandbag= someone on an avanced level participating in novice

Does it ever happen? Sure... I guess. The more important question is whether it happens a lot. I have competed in Grapplers Quest events for 5-6 years and I have not seen evidence of it happening a lot - especially now that the Grapplers Quest promoter is sensitive to this issue and keeps a lookout for it.

I think the allegation of sandbagging is much more common than people actually doing the sandbagging. You know how people are: They love to complain about shit. But where is the proof? The fact that so-and-so knows that Joe Bob from Tough Guy Academy sandbagged in the last tournament means that he knows it happened one time. Big deal. Did they report this to the promoter to stop Joe Bob from doing it again? If not, then they have no reason to complain. Usually, the "proof" is that they THINK soomeone is sandbagging or they got beat by someone and have sour grapes.

Just go into the tournament for fun and try to win, but don't agonize over what other competitors are doing or saying.

I'm going to try my first tournament in December, novice level as well. I'm not really too concerned about people sandbagging. If someone beats me then they beat me and I'll thank them for the experience.

I'd rather lose to someone that's better than me than to beat someone at my level or with less experience.