Graduation Question

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by bjjtrekker, Sep 22, 2010.

1. bjjtrekker White Belt

Hi guys and gals I have a question for anyone who could help.

I am a purple belt coach and have run a school for 5 years ( i got my purple a couple of years ago ) we have never really had much luck with affilations going from 1 black belt to the next in this time though no fault if our own.

I have had a student train with me for 5 years + in this time he has gained 4 stripes on his belt ( through seminars off our various black belts ) he has had very good success in comps both gi and nogi fought and won MMA fights winning with submissions. and he taps other blues at our team and sometimes myself.

I now feel he is ready for a blue belt as do other in our team to take his training to the next level
    I know this students game inside out and I have taught him everything he knows.

As we have no black belt coach again I am seeking advice as to if it would be accepted that a purple belt grades a grade below himself. I have handed out stripes and no black belt has ever questioned one of them!. I am just a little hesitant at handing out a belt. I would feel better giving it myself rather than getting yet another black belt to do a seminar ( maybe have to affiliate again ) that does not know him or will hardly see him or has taught him nothing! I know I will need to re affiliate for my personal progression and that of the other blue belts but that could be another year or 2 and i honestly feel he should not be held back because of affiliation issues.

advice and opinions please.

2. HEAVY GRAPPLER Brown Belt

You need to find a black belt to do this.

Stripes are one thing, but the idea of a purple giving a blue is only for extreme situations where there is no black belt in the area - not just because you have affiliation troubles.

There are BBs who will do this. Bring one in for a week or something.

3. millasur Blue Belt